Tuesday, March 18, 2008

Is Whole Foods 365 Brand Rice Milk Gluten-Free?


The answer, unfortunately, is "no." The vanilla flavored 365 brand rice milk has gluten. The original flavor does not have it as an ingredient, but there is a risk of cross-contamination. Because of this, I choose to use Pacific brand rice milk. (NOTE: Rice Dream rice milk is *not* gluten-free, even though the box and the company may say so.)

Here is a response from Whole Foods about their rice milk:

Thanks for your email about our 365 Organic Everyday Value Rice Milks. The Organic Vanilla Rice Milk does [emphasis mine] contain gluten in its ingredients (specifically from barley), whereas the Organic Original Rice Milk does not contain gluten in its ingredients (and contains no barley).

Though good manufacturing practices are used to segregate these products, they are manufactured in a facility that also produces other products containing gluten. We have made every effort to be as accurate as possible, however, we cannot be held responsible for individual reactions to any products nor can we guarantee the absence of cross-contamination [emphasis mine]. Always read the label. The information provided here is for educational purposes only. In no way should it be considered as medical advice.

To date we have had no reported incidents involving a gluten reaction to either of these products.

[. . .]

I hope this answers some of the questions you had about our Rice Milks, and that you continue to enjoy shopping at Whole Foods Market!

Reagan Taplin
Senior Customer Service Specialist, Private Label

Although we choose not to use the Original flavor of the Whole Foods 365 rice milks, I know that some people do use them and report no problems. I just don't want to have to worry about cross contamination issues, so I don't bother.

Hope this helps somebody!!!

3 comments:

FarmWife said...

This is the first time I've been here & I'm facinated. My daughter (BabyGirl) has SPD & you answered a question I posted on the Yahoo SPD group board about going GFCF. I'm looking into it seriously & will definitely be back here for more information & recipes. The food looks wonderful!

babunath said...

My kid is on GFCF diet since 6 months. He always was allergic to 365 ricemilk original, but was fine with Pacific ricemilk or unsweetened Pacific almond milk. Hence we stopped going for 365 brand. Unfortuntely Whole Foods stopped selling Pacific ricemilk probably to promote their own 365 brand.

Anonymous said...

To babunath... Whole Foods (in Atlanta, GA) definitely sells Pacific Foods Rice Milk because I buy 6 cases every month for use by my two autistc children - we SPECIAL ORDER these cases from the Whole Foods warehouse to ensure availablity. Prices fluctuate some, but buying by the case (12 units) knocks an extra 10% off the price of the product as well.

Looking for More . . .?

I only have a few posts on the page. To find more, click "Older Posts" above this message. You can also find other posts by using the labels/categories list on the right-hand side of the page, or by using the archives menu. I've got more than 130 posts on this blog, so sit back and make yourself at home!

COPYRIGHT. All words and images on "Tori's GFCF Blog" (unless otherwise credited) are (c) 2007-2009 Tori's GFCF Blog (http://gfcfblog.blogspot.com).
DISCLAIMER. I am not a doctor. I am not a nutritionist. I'm just a mom who has been implementing the GFCF diet since October 2007 (and soy-free about 5 weeks thereafter). Please do not rely upon my blog as your sole source of information or advice. I only offer my personal experiences for your consideration and can not be held responsible for any adverse reaction or experience you or your child may have should you choose to try something I have tried. Remember that every child is unique, and what works for mine may not work for yours.