Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Fritos: Cross Contamination Issues

Original Fritos and Fritos Scoops do not have gluten or casein in their ingredients.

However, they are produced on shared lines with other products that do have gluten or casein in their ingredients.

This is considered a potential for "cross contamination." If your child is sensitive to cross contamination (like mine seems to be), you might want to avoid the Fritos. If you're not sure and/or are new to the GFCF diet, keep a log and take note of when you give your child Fritos and how he/she responds. After time, if you give them for a while then take them away, then give them then take them away, you'll most likely be able to tell if they cause issues for your child.

The Frito Lay website [click HERE] provides a list of all their products that do not contain gluten or casein. Scroll down to the bottom of the list, though, to read their cross contamination statement.

1 comment:

Crystal said...

This is not good news for us, but thanks for sharing...

Looking for More . . .?

I only have a few posts on the page. To find more, click "Older Posts" above this message. You can also find other posts by using the labels/categories list on the right-hand side of the page, or by using the archives menu. I've got more than 130 posts on this blog, so sit back and make yourself at home!

COPYRIGHT. All words and images on "Tori's GFCF Blog" (unless otherwise credited) are (c) 2007-2009 Tori's GFCF Blog (
DISCLAIMER. I am not a doctor. I am not a nutritionist. I'm just a mom who has been implementing the GFCF diet since October 2007 (and soy-free about 5 weeks thereafter). Please do not rely upon my blog as your sole source of information or advice. I only offer my personal experiences for your consideration and can not be held responsible for any adverse reaction or experience you or your child may have should you choose to try something I have tried. Remember that every child is unique, and what works for mine may not work for yours.