Thursday, May 22, 2008

Rice Dream is NOT Gluten-Free


Rice Dream Website: May 22, 2008

Is Rice Dream Beverage a gluten free product?
No. [emphasis added] Rice Dream Beverage is processed using a barley enzyme. Even though the barley enzyme is discarded after use, the final beverage might contain a minute residual amount (less than .002%) of barley protein.

Rice Dream Website: July 17, 2008
Is Rice Dream Beverage a gluten free product?
Yes. [emphasis added] Although Rice Dream Beverage is processed using a barley enzyme, the barley enzyme is discarded after use. The final beverage might contain a minute residual amount (less than .002%) of barley protein.

See how the definition of "gluten-free" can give you a totally different answer? To learn more and figure out what this all means, please read my explanation by clicking HERE.

3 comments:

Amanda said...

We definitely had this experience. It is crazy to believe, but when we went to Good Karma Rice Drink, my 2yo finally cleared up! We're GFCFSF also, and I've heard Almond Breeze is going SF this summer (which would make it GFCFSF), but are there any other options anyone's discovered?

Tori said...

Amanda: We use hempmilk and Pacific brand rice milk. I've got another post about milk subs here: http://gfcfblog.blogspot.com/2008/04/which-gfcfgfcfsf-milk-substitute-should.html.

Thanks for stopping by!
Tori :)

GFCF Mommy said...

I was ranting about this to my husband just today. Rice Dream has really been inconsistent about this over the last year or so and my conclusion is you just can't trust them.

For years they DID have the barley mentioned in the fine print of the ingredients. Then, last year, they started putting "gluten-free" on their label and removed the note about the barley, giving the impression that they had changed their formulation. It even fooled me. Now, they have removed the "gluten-free" but did not add back the barley mention on their ingredients, so unless you check out their website, there is no way to know, just by the label, that they do contain gluten.

Now, my son has never had a bad reaction, but I've quit using them out of principle. We use digestive enzymes with all meals, so trace elements don't usually bother him. But labeling is REALLY important. My son might be ok, but many more sensitive children might not. And, those with celiac REALLY need this information.

I was going to post about this too, but I am glad you did it first!

We like the Pacific brand too.

Katherine

Looking for More . . .?

I only have a few posts on the page. To find more, click "Older Posts" above this message. You can also find other posts by using the labels/categories list on the right-hand side of the page, or by using the archives menu. I've got more than 130 posts on this blog, so sit back and make yourself at home!

COPYRIGHT. All words and images on "Tori's GFCF Blog" (unless otherwise credited) are (c) 2007-2009 Tori's GFCF Blog (http://gfcfblog.blogspot.com).
DISCLAIMER. I am not a doctor. I am not a nutritionist. I'm just a mom who has been implementing the GFCF diet since October 2007 (and soy-free about 5 weeks thereafter). Please do not rely upon my blog as your sole source of information or advice. I only offer my personal experiences for your consideration and can not be held responsible for any adverse reaction or experience you or your child may have should you choose to try something I have tried. Remember that every child is unique, and what works for mine may not work for yours.